MiniPACS + Vendo

Guide

Mini PACS system: what it is and when it beats a full PACS

A plain-language definition of a mini PACS server, an honest comparison against enterprise PACS, and a checklist for choosing one, written by people who build one.

Updated September 2026

That is the whole idea. Everything else on this page is detail: how a mini PACS server differs from the full-size systems hospitals run, who actually needs one, and what separates a good one from a science project. If you want the broader primer first, start with the general PACS primer and come back. One naming note: mini PACS the category is not MiPACS the product, Apryse's dental imaging software, and it is not MiniPACS either. For that comparison, see the MiPACS alternative page. The category also has literal vendors in the name, like aycan mini PACS; see the aycan alternative comparison. Candelis ships a similarly named ImageGrid Mini PACS Server, but as a vendor hardware appliance rather than software; see the Candelis alternative comparison.

Mini PACS vs full enterprise PACS

The acronym is the same; the animal is not. An enterprise PACS is built to federate imaging across departments, buildings, and sometimes whole hospital networks. A mini PACS system is built to run one site well. The practical differences land in four places:


The acronym is the same; the animal is not.


Enterprise PACSMini PACS
ScaleMulti-department or multi-hospital, many modalities, RIS and HL7 integrationsOne clinic, a handful of modalities, one archive
HardwareDedicated servers or a rack, often with vendor-managed appliancesOne box in the clinic; ordinary server-class hardware
PriceHigh five to six figures upfront plus annual maintenanceFlat monthly pricing; MiniPACS is $300 per month per location
Admin burdenA PACS administrator role, sometimes a teamWhoever already runs the clinic's computers

Neither column is wrong. A six-hospital network genuinely needs the left column. A two-modality clinic that buys the left column pays for federation machinery it will never switch on, and then pays a person to administer it. Note where the line actually runs: not between the words hospital and clinic, but through the requirements list. A smaller hospital with one imaging site and no HL7 RIS integration to feed sits in the right column; a clinic group federating three locations has left-column needs despite the name.

A single clinic's worklist in MiniPACS, one archive on synthetic data.

Who needs a mini PACS

Small imaging clinics
An independent imaging center with one location and a steady modality lineup gets full PACS behavior at a price that does not assume hospital budgets.
Single-modality practices
An office running one X-ray or one ultrasound machine does not need enterprise anything; it needs the studies archived, viewable, and shareable.
Veterinary, dental, and orthopedic clinics
These practices are the classic mini PACS shape: one site, DICOM modalities, and referring workflows. We cover the specifics on the veterinary PACS, dental PACS, and orthopedic PACS pages.
Clinics leaving metered cloud PACS
When the per-study meter starts hurting, a mini PACS on your own hardware caps the bill. The PACS cost guide walks through that math.

What to look for in a mini PACS server

A browser viewer
If reading a study requires installing a desktop application on every machine, you inherit an IT chore forever. Studies should open in any modern browser, fast. The MiniPACS viewer cold-opens in 0.6 seconds, measured.
Real DICOM conformance
The system must accept C-STORE from any modality that speaks DICOM, not just the vendor's own machines. Ask for the conformance statement before you sign.
Flat pricing
Per-study and per-gigabyte meters turn a growing practice into a growing invoice. A flat monthly price is the only model where doing more imaging does not cost more software money.
Backups you can verify
A single box is fine; a single copy of the data is not. The system should run encrypted backups on a schedule and let you prove a restore works.
Sharing without accounts
Referring physicians should open a link, not install software or register. Look for expiring share links; MiniPACS links live 7-90 days, your choice.

Where MiniPACS fits

MiniPACS is literally a mini PACS server: one box in the clinic that archives every study, opens them in a browser viewer that cold-starts in a measured 0.6 seconds, burns discs, and shares studies with referring physicians through expiring links. It costs $300 per month per location, flat, with setup from $1,500, and the archive scale behind it is real: the same engine already serves millions of images. The full capability list is on the features page, pricing detail on the pricing page, and the self-hosting story on self-hosted PACS.

The MiniPACS dashboard, one box's status at a glance, on synthetic data.

The fastest way to judge a mini PACS is to click around one. The live demo is the real product running on synthetic data, no sales call. Enter a work email and we send you a one-time link that opens it.

A mini PACS for a single site: one box in the clinic, flat $300 per location per month with no per-study fees, and the archive stays yours in standard DICOM.

Get pricing

Mini PACS servers compared (2026)

The phrase covers three different shapes of product: a hardware appliance you buy once, software you run on your own box, and a cloud subscription that meters storage. The table lists the mini PACS servers that come up most often, with what each vendor actually publishes. Where a vendor does not state a price on its own site, the cell says so rather than guessing.

ProductForm factorPublished priceViewer included?Self-hosted?Notes
Carestream Mini-PACS (Image Suite V4 module)Software module on the CR/DR acquisition workstationNot publishedYes, full-featured DICOM viewer; tablet viewer is a paid optionYesWorklist, reporting tools, CD/USB archiving and a DICOM Store SCP in one module; tied to Carestream Image Suite. Brochure dated 2017.
Konica Minolta Symmetry Mini PACSWeb-based software on the Exa platform, server-side renderingNot publishedYes, zero-footprint browser viewerServer-based; deployment terms not stated on the sell sheetScaled for specialty care; physician portal and workflow designer included, EHR integration at an additional fee.
Candelis ImageGrid Mini PACS ServerHardware appliance (stand-alone PC tower), 1 to 48 TB usable RAIDNot published by Candelis; reseller lists the iMD-2 1.8 TB at $14,500 one-timeOptional diagnostic viewer (Standard or Advanced); one concurrent license in the reseller bundleYesWeb-based admin, HIPAA auditing, anonymization; reseller bundle includes one year of support and cloud backup.
aycan mini PACSOn-site appliance, or cloud hosted on OracleNot publishedOptional: aycan workstation (macOS), universal thin-client viewer, aycan webYes on-site; cloud optionalVendor-neutral, deconstructed PACS model (archive, viewers, worklist sold as parts).
PostDICOMCloud subscriptionPublished tiers, roughly $80 to $500 per month by storage (100 GB to 2 TB) and users (1 to 6)Yes, browser viewerNoMetered by storage, user count and monthly share links; 7-day trial; larger sites on custom pricing.
MiniPACSSoftware on one box in the clinic (Docker on Linux, runs on a mini PC)$300 per month per location, flat; setup from $1,500 one-timeYes: Stone Web Viewer, OHIF and VolView 3D in the browserYesUnlimited machines and staff, no per-study or storage fees; encrypted backups, share links, disc burn and audit log included.

Sources: each vendor's own product page or sell sheet, checked August 2026; the Candelis figure is a reseller listing, since Candelis itself does not publish a price. Two patterns stand out. Appliance vendors sell a one-time box plus a support contract and quote the price; cloud vendors publish the price but meter it by storage and users. If you want the license at $0 and are willing to run it yourself, the open source PACS route (Orthanc, dcm4chee) is the third option, and the affordable PACS guide puts all three side by side with break-even volumes.


Affordable mini PACS server: what $300 a month buys

MiniPACS is priced as one flat number per location: $300 per month, billed yearly, with a one-time setup from $1,500 scoped to your archive. There are no per-study, per-seat or per-gigabyte meters, and the figure covers unlimited machines and unlimited staff at the site. Concretely, that number includes:

  • The DICOM archive itself. A C-STORE and C-ECHO server that accepts studies from any modality that speaks DICOM (CT, MR, US, XR, DX, MG, NM, PT, RF, XA), plus query-retrieve (C-FIND, C-MOVE) for registered nodes and DICOMweb (QIDO, WADO) for viewers and integrations.
  • Three browser viewers, nothing installed. The Stone Web Viewer (cold-opens in a measured 0.6 seconds), OHIF, and VolView for 3D and MPR volume rendering. Every reading station and every staff member is covered; there is no seat count.
  • A live worklist and a report editor. The worklist updates over WebSocket as studies arrive, and the report editor ships 13 built-in templates, 11 dot-phrase macros, voice dictation, and a finalize, sign, revert and addendum lifecycle. Signed reports are stored as DICOM Encapsulated PDF, so they travel with the study.
  • Sharing and disc export. Expiring share links with PIN, QR code and email, a branded patient portal for referring physicians and patients, and one-click burn-to-CD/USB as a self-contained ISO with an optional report inside.
  • Import and transfer. Drag-and-drop bulk import of whole folders with hash-based dedup and resumable chunked uploads, send-to-PACS to other DICOM nodes, and a gateway agent for remote modalities or branch sites.
  • Security, audit and compliance. An editable RBAC matrix (17 rights, 4 roles), an append-only hash-chained audit log you can verify from the UI, a per-patient HIPAA Accounting of Disclosures report, login lockout and password policy, and zero published web ports beyond DICOM.
  • Backups and operations. AES-256 encrypted backups on a schedule you edit in the UI, downloadable by piece with a freshness badge, a System Health dashboard with repair buttons, and a self-updater with verified rollback.

Two things it does not include yet, stated plainly: a DICOM Modality Worklist (MWL) service and built-in anonymization. If either is a hard requirement today, say so on the demo request and we will tell you where they sit on the roadmap. The full list lives on the features page; the reasoning behind flat pricing is on the PACS cost guide.

FAQ

What is a mini PACS?

A mini PACS is a small-scale picture archiving and communication system that runs a single imaging site instead of a whole hospital network. It receives DICOM studies from your modalities, archives them on one local server, and serves them to a viewer, the same core job a full PACS does. The difference is scope, not legitimacy: a mini PACS skips the multi-hospital federation layer, the dedicated admin team, and the enterprise price tag, and keeps the parts a single clinic actually uses every day.

What hardware does a mini PACS need?

One ordinary server-class box in the clinic, or even a capable desktop machine, plus disks sized for your study volume. There is no rack of appliances and no data center contract. With MiniPACS the whole system, archive, viewer and backups included, runs on a single machine you already know how to power and plug in.

What is the difference between a mini PACS and a full PACS?

Scope, not the standard. Both receive DICOM studies from modalities, archive them, and serve them to a viewer. A full (enterprise) PACS adds the layers a hospital network needs: federation across departments and buildings, RIS and HL7 integrations, multi-site routing, and a PACS administrator to run it. A mini PACS drops that layer and keeps the parts a single site uses every day: one archive, a viewer, sharing and backups, on one box the clinic already owns. The trade is deliberate: a mini PACS is not built to federate six hospitals, and an enterprise PACS is a poor fit for a two-modality clinic that will never switch the federation machinery on.

How much does a mini PACS server cost?

Most mini PACS vendors do not publish a price. Carestream, Konica Minolta (Symmetry Mini PACS), Candelis (ImageGrid Mini) and aycan all sell through quotes; the one public data point we found is a reseller listing of the Candelis ImageGrid Mini iMD-2 1.8 TB appliance at $14,500 one-time with one year of support. PostDICOM, a cloud PACS, publishes tiers by storage and user count, roughly $80 to $500 per month. MiniPACS is $300 per month per location, flat, with a one-time setup from $1,500: no per-study fees, no per-seat fees, no storage meters. See the PACS cost guide and the affordable PACS guide for the break-even math against metered cloud plans.

Can a mini PACS replace cloud PACS?

For a single-location clinic, usually yes. Studies stay on your own hardware, so viewing does not depend on your internet connection and there are no per-study or egress fees. You still get browser viewing and share links for referring physicians. What you give up is the multi-site anywhere-access a distributed radiology group might need; for that case read our cloud vs onsite comparison.

Does a mini PACS fit a smaller hospital?

Often, yes. The line does not run between the words hospital and clinic; it runs through what the imaging department actually needs. A smaller hospital with one imaging site, a handful of modalities and no requirement to integrate a hospital RIS over HL7 is the same shape as a large clinic, and a mini PACS covers it: one archive, browser viewing, sharing and backups. The moment the requirement list includes HL7 RIS integration, a Modality Worklist feed to the scanners, or federation across departments, you are shopping for a full PACS, and MiniPACS specifically does not offer HL7 RIS integration or MWL today.

Does a mini PACS work for veterinary or dental clinics?

Yes, and it is often the best fit. Veterinary and dental practices are usually single-location, single-modality or two-modality operations, exactly the shape a mini PACS is built for. MiniPACS speaks standard DICOM, so any modality that exports DICOM can send to it, and we have dedicated pages for veterinary PACS and dental PACS workflows.

MiniPACS brand plate: self-hosted PACS for independent imaging centers

See it run, then get pricing.

Built for US imaging clinics and proven in production: millions of images already live on this exact stack. Flat $300 a month per location, no per-study fees, and you can export everything to standard DICOM whenever you want. Both demos are the real apps on synthetic data; enter a work email and we send a one-time link that opens them.

Get pricing